How many islands does the Aegean Sea have?

1,415 islands
The Aegean Sea has about 1,415 islands and islets, the majority of which politically belong to Greece.

What is the name of the islands in the Aegean Sea?

Aegean Islands, Greek islands in the Aegean Sea, particularly the Cyclades, Sporades, and Dodecanese groups. The Cyclades consist of about 30 islands. The Dodecanese, or Southern Sporades, include Kálimnos, Kárpathos, Cos, Léros, Pátmos, Rhodes, and Sími.

How many islands is the Aegean Sea home to?

Aegean Sea
Max. width 400 km (250 mi)
Surface area 214,000 km2 (83,000 sq mi)
Max. depth 3,544 m (11,627 feet)
Islands 150+

Who owns most of the islands in the Aegean Sea?

The vast majority of the Aegean Islands belong to Greece, being split among nine administrative regions. The only sizable possessions of Turkey in the Aegean Sea are Imbros (Gökçeada) and Tenedos (Bozcaada), in the northeastern part of the Sea.

Where is the location of the Aegean Sea?

Aegean Sea, Greek Aigaíon Pélagos, Turkish Ege Deniz, an arm of the Mediterranean Sea, located between the Greek peninsula on the west and Asia Minor on the east.

Is Greece in the Aegean Sea?

The Aegean Sea lies between the coast of Greece and Asia Minor (modern-day Turkey). It contains over 2,000 islands which were settled by the ancient Greeks; the largest among them being Crete (Kriti) and the best known and most often photographed Santorini (Thera or Thira).

Is Corfu an Aegean island?

The largest Greek island by area is Crete, located at the southern edge of the Aegean Sea….Islands of Greece by size.

Island Corfu
Greek name Κέρκυρα
Area (miles2) 229
Area (km2) 592.9
Cluster Ionian Islands

Where are the South Aegean islands?

Southeast Greece
Southeast Greece The South Aegean is one of 13 building blocks that make up Greece. The region stakes its claim on an area of the Aegean Sea on the south east of the Greek mainland, and it wraps its arms around the islands of the Cyclades and the Dodecanese.

Is Rhodes an Aegean island?

Administratively the island forms a separate municipality within the Rhodes regional unit, which is part of the South Aegean administrative region….Rhodes.

Rhodes Ρόδος
Country Greece
Administrative region South Aegean
Prefecture Dodecanese
Regional unit Rhodes

How salty is the Aegean Sea?

It is bordered on the north and west by Greece, on the east by Turkey, and on the south by the island of Crete. The Aegean Sea is around 400 miles long and 200 miles wide….Aegean Sea.

Quick Facts: Aegean Sea
Temperature: Winter: 14 -16°C Summer: 25°C
Salinity: 39.1 – 39.2%
Area: 214.000 km² (83.000 mi²)

What is special about Aegean Sea?

Interesting Aegean Sea Facts: The Aegean Sea has a maximum length of 430 miles and maximum width of 250 miles. It is considered to be an elongated embayment between the Anatolian and Greek peninsulas. The maximum depth of the Aegean Sea is 11,624 feet, located east of Crete.

Where does the Aegean Sea End?

The Aegean Sea is part of the Mediterranean Sea. It is between Greece and Anatolia. It is connected (attached) in the north to the Sea of Marmara and the Black Sea by the Dardanelles and Bosporus. The large islands of Rhodes and Crete mark the south end.

Where is the Aegean Sea?

The Aegean Sea is the northeastern part of the Mediterranean Sea; it lies between Greece and Turkey and is bounded on the south by Crete. Much of the area is covered in our article on the Greek Islands, and Crete has a separate article.

Why are the Aegean islands important to Greece?

The Aegean islands within the Aegean Sea are significant tourist destinations. Tourism to the Aegean islands contributes a significant portion of tourism in Greece, especially since the second half of the 20th century.

How does the Aegean Sea move?

Aegean surface water circulates in a counterclockwise gyre, with hypersaline Mediterranean water moving northward along the west coast of Turkey, before being displaced by less dense Black Sea outflow.

What are the islands of Turkey in the Aegean Sea?

Various Turkish islands in the sea are Imbros, Tenedos, Cunda Island, and the Foça Islands . The Aegean Sea has been historically important, especially in regards to the civilization of Ancient Greece, who inhabited the area around the coast of the Aegean and the Aegean islands.