What are the 7 elements of Gothic architecture?

Gothic Architecture History, Characteristics and Examples

  • Large Stained Glass Windows.
  • Pointed Arches.
  • Vaulted Ceilings.
  • Flying Buttresses.
  • The Gargoyles of Gothic Architecture/ Ornate Decorations.

What are the 5 elements of Gothic architecture?

Classic Elements While the Gothic style can vary according to location, age, and type of building, it is often characterized by 5 key architectural elements: large stained glass windows, pointed arches, rib vaults, flying buttresses, and ornate decoration.

What are the three main components of Gothic architecture?

There are three things that make Gothic architecture Gothic:

  • The pointed arch.
  • The ribbed vault.
  • The flying buttress.

What are naves in architecture?

The nave is that part of a church set apart for the laity, as distinguished from the chancel, choir, and presbytery, which are reserved for the choir and clergy. The separation of the two areas may be effected by screens or parapets, called cancelli.

What are the four styles of Gothic architecture?

Typically, these typologies are identified as:

  • 1130–c. 1240 Early to High Gothic and Early English.
  • 1240–c. 1350 Rayonnant and Decorated Style.
  • 1350–c. 1500 Late Gothic: flamboyant and perpendicular.

What is a Gothic arch called?

A pointed arch, ogival arch, or Gothic arch is an arch with a pointed crown, whose two curving sides meet at a relatively sharp angle at the top of the arch. This architectural element was particularly important in Gothic architecture.

What is a pointed arch called?

What are Gothic arches called?

What is the difference between nave and apse?

Glossary. Aisle: A pair of walkways that are parallel to the primary public spaces in the church, e.g. nave, choir and transept. The aisles are separated from the public areas by pillars supporting the upper walls, called an arcade. Apse: The end of the building opposite the main entry.

What does an apse look like?

In the world of architecture, an apse is a semi-circle, like an upside down bowl, built into the ceiling over a pinnacle point. In pre-Christian times, it would be the highest point of the ceiling.

What were prevailing styles of Gothic architecture?

Late Gothic (15th-century) architecture reached its height in Germany’s vaulted hall churches. Other late Gothic styles include the British Perpendicular style and the French and Spanish Flamboyant style. Interior of Reims Cathedral, France, begun in 1211.

What is a pointed arch or window called?

What is the function of the triforium in a Gothic building?

The triforium sometimes served structural functions, as under its roof are arches and vaults which carry thrust from the nave to the outer wall. When the flying buttress was frankly adopted by the Gothic architect and emphasized by its architectural design as an important feature, other cross-arches were introduced under the roof to strengthen it.

What is a triforium?

A triforium is an interior gallery, opening onto the tall central space of a building at an upper level.

What are the three phases of Gothic architecture?

The rich history of Gothic architecture is divided into three distinct phases: Early, High, and Late. Each is characterized by different design elements, styles, and engineering advancements. Basilica of Saint-Denis, Saint-Denis, France. Early Gothic architecture represents the style between the years 1120 and 1200.

When was the triforium removed from a church window?

In the 15th-century churches in England, when the roof over the aisles was comparatively flat, more height being required for the clerestory windows, the triforium was dispensed with altogether.