What does the OEA do?

The Organization of American States is the premier regional forum for political discussion, policy analysis and decision-making in Western Hemisphere affairs. The OAS brings together leaders from nations across the Americas to address hemispheric issues and opportunities.

What is the OAS Charter?

The Charter of the Organization of the American States (otherwise known the Charter of the OAS) is a Pan-American treaty that sets out the creation of the Organization of American States. It was signed at the Ninth International Conference of American States of 30 April 1948, held in Bogot√°, Colombia.

Why was the OAS created?

The basic objectives of the OAS, as laid out in its Charter, are to strengthen peace and security; promote the effective exercise of representative democracy; ensure the peaceful settlement of disputes among members; provide for common action in the event of aggression; seek solutions to political, juridical, and …

How many countries are in the OEA?

35 independent nations
All 35 independent nations of the Americas are member states of the Organization of American States (OAS).

Where does Oregon rank in education?

Read our methodology to see how the scores and rankings were calculated….Oregon Rankings.

Higher Education #23
Pre-K – 12 #37

Does Oklahoma have a teachers union?

The Oklahoma Aspiring Educators Association (OAEA) is an affiliate of the Oklahoma Education Association (OEA), the state’s largest teacher union and the state affiliate of the National Education Association (NEA).

Is the Rio Pact still in effect?

The treaty was used many times during the cold war, notably during the Cuban Missile Crisis. The treaty lost its influence in 1982 when the United States supported the United Kingdom in its war with Argentina over the Falkland Islands.

What is the protocol of Buenos Aires?

The Member States, inspired by the principles of Inter–American solidarity and cooperation, pledge themselves to a united effort to ensure social justice in the Hemisphere and dynamic and balanced economic development for their peoples, as conditions essential to peace and security.

How are decisions made in OAS?

Decisions are made by an affirmative vote of two-thirds of the council’s members, except in special cases when a simple majority can adopt decisions.

Is Cuba a member of the OAS?

Despite being a founding member of the Organization of American States (OAS), Cuba was effectively suspended from 31 January 1962 to 3 June 2009. Thus, for almost the entire time that the OAS has been operating, Cuba has been barred from sending representatives to the OAS and effectively had its membership suspended.

Is Haiti a member of OAS?

Membership. 21 original OAS members (1948): Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, United States, Uruguay, and Venezuela.

Is Trinidad part of OAS?

Currently, there is no Representative designated in the OAS National Office in Trinidad and Tobago.