What is cross zoning of detectors?

Cross-zone detection is all about the confirmation of a fire through requiring two fire detectors in the space to activate before beginning the releasing sequence. Cross-zoned detection is not always used to release a suppression system, but it often is when using smoke detectors.

What is the NFPA standard for fire detection system?

The NFPA 72 (National Fire Alarm and Signaling Code) is a standard published by the National Fire Protection Association every 3 years for installation of fire alarm systems and emergency communication systems in the United States.

What does NFPA 72 say?

NFPA 72 only provides requirements for the installation, performance, testing, inspection, and maintenance of the fire alarm system. NFPA 101®, Life Safety Code® and other codes determine whether a fire alarm system is required in a given occupancy. 2.

What is a cross zone?

Cross zoning is a false alarm reduction feature you can assign to almost any zone on the system. Cross zoning is not restricted to any one area, so it provides tremendous flexibility when laying out a system.

Which is a common type of automatic alarm system?

Residential Fire Alarm Systems Single-station smoke alarm is the most common type of residential fire alarm system.

Which is a function of a sprinkler head?

Each sprinkler head is attached to a pipe that connects to a reliable water source outside the building. When heat activates a sprinkler head, a valve opens, allowing pressurized water from the pipe system to flow out. It’s important for water in a fire sprinkler system to be pressurized.

What are the 5 types of commercial fire alarm systems?

Types of Commercial Fire Alarms

  • Conventional Fire Alarms. Conventional fire alarms include a number of different “zones” that are hardwired to your central control panel.
  • Addressable Fire Alarms. These fire alarms are also called “intelligent systems” as they monitor the fire alarms in your building.
  • Hybrid Fire Alarms.

Is NFPA 72 a law?

It would not be unheard of for the 2007 edition of NFPA 72 being the code adopted as law and in force even though the 2010, 2013, and 2016 versions have released by NFPA.

What does NFPA 13 cover?

NFPA® 13, Standard for the Installation of Sprinkler Systems, provides the minimum requirements for the design and installation of automatic fire sprinkler systems and exposure protection sprinkler systems.

How does a bimetallic strip work as a heat detector switch?

When the strip is heated by fire, the high-expansion side bends the strip toward an electrical contact. When the strip touches that contact, it completes a circuit that triggers the alarm to sound. The width of the gap between the contacts determines the temperature that will set off the alarm.

What are the 4 types of automatic initiating devices?

Automatic Initiating devices

  • Heat detectors.
  • Smoke detectors.
  • Duct detectors.
  • Beam detectors.
  • Tamper switches.
  • Fire sprinkler water flow switches.