Can you refuse viewings as a tenant?
If you don’t want your landlord or letting agent to organise viewings you can refuse and they may not enter without your permission.
Is New Hampshire a landlord friendly state?
Overall, the answer is yes! Compared to many states, especially Massachusetts, New York, Illinois, California, and Rhode Island, your property rights as an owner of rental property are fairly well protected in the Granite State.
Can landlord have viewings while I still live there?
Landlords do not have an automatic right to conduct viewings with prospective tenants so the first thing to do is to look at your tenancy agreement. If there is no mention of viewings for prospective tenants, then you can refuse permission as of right.
How much notice does a landlord have to give for a viewing?
24 hours notice
In accordance with tenant and landlord law, you’re required to give 24 hours notice before you visit, otherwise your tenants are within their legal rights to refuse you entry (except in very specific circumstances). One of the key principles to a tenancy is exclusivity.
Can I refuse access to my landlord?
Can a tenant refuse entry to a landlord or letting agent? Yes, they can. In 99% of cases a tenant refusing entry to a landlord will usually boil down to convenience, or lack thereof. Simply adjusting the time and date will be enough to gain access to the property.
Can a landlord enter without permission in NH?
It is against the law RSA 540-A for a landlord to: Enter your residence without permission, except to make emergency repairs. (You should not refuse your landlord’s reasonable request to enter with enough notice); Take any other action to force you out of your home without going through the eviction process.
How much notice does a landlord have to give to enter property NH?
How much notice must the landlord provide the tenant before entering the unit? Landlords do not have to provide tenants notice of their intent to enter the unit. However, it is good practice for landlords to do so. It’s best practice to give tenants at least 24-hours notice of entry.
How much notice do landlords have to give for a viewing?
How can I ensure a good relationship with my tenant when it comes to gaining access to the property? There’s one golden rule you should always stick by: always provide your tenants with written notice at least 24 hours before any planned visits.
What rights do I have as a tenant?
The right to be protected from unfair rent and unfair eviction. The right to have a written agreement if you have a fixed-term tenancy of more than three years. As of 1 June 2019, to not have to pay certain fees when setting up a new tenancy under the Tenant Fees Act (commonly referred to as the Tenant Fee Ban).
Can I sue my landlord for emotional distress?
Can I sue my landlord for pain and suffering? As part of a personal injury claim, you could be compensated for any pain or suffering you were caused to experience as a result of your landlord’s failings. This includes physical and psychiatric harm, as well as financial losses.
Do I have to let my landlord do viewings?
Yes, a landlord has the right to show potential tenants around the property. But they still need to give the tenant at least 24 hours’ notice. It also doesn’t matter whether the viewings are for potential buyers if the landlord is selling up or for new tenants to replace the current ones.
What are the rules for renting in New Hampshire?
Apart from paying rent in a timely manner, New Hampshire tenants are required to: 1 Keep the unit in a safe and habitable condition 2 Keep fixtures clean and sanitary 3 Make small repairs and maintenance 4 Not disturb other tenants or neighbors
What do you need to know about a lease in NH?
Consumer Protection Bureau. All promises to make repairs to the leased property should be made in writing. Keep a copy of the lease so that you can refer to it if a problem arises. New Hampshire law requires that the landlord give a copy of the lease to the tenant within 30 days after the signing.
What happens if a tenant violates a lease in New Hampshire?
Lease violation – If a lease violation occurs, then a tenant is entitled to receive a 30-Day Notice to Cure or Quit. If these terms are not met within the notice period, then the landlord may pursue formal eviction. Illegal acts – New Hampshire law does not establish illegal acts as justification for eviction.
Can a tenant withhold rent in New Hampshire?
Because failure to pay rent can be grounds for eviction, tenants need competent legal advice before they withhold rent. The New Hampshire Consumer Protection Bureau would refer any tenants thinking of taking this action to New Hampshire Legal Assistance or to a private attorney for help.