How lymphocytes are activated?

Lymphocyte activation occurs when lymphocytes (B cells or T cells) are triggered through antigen-specific receptors on their cell surface. This causes the cells to proliferate and differentiate into specialized effector lymphocytes.

What stimulates the production and differentiation of lymphocytes?

When a lymphocyte encounters its antigen in a peripheral lymphoid organ, the binding of the antigen to the receptors activates the lymphocyte, causing it both to proliferate and to differentiate into an effector cell.

What are activation of B and T lymphocytes?

Activation of B cells Activation is carried out through a cell-to-cell interaction that occurs between a protein called the CD40 ligand, which appears on the surface of the activated helper T cells, and the CD40 protein on the B-cell surface.

Where does differentiation of lymphocytes occur?

Most steps in T-cell differentiation occur in the cortex of the thymus. The thymic medulla contains mainly mature T cells. Lymphocyte development is accompanied by extensive cell death, reflecting intense selection and the elimination of those cells with inappropriate receptor specificities.

What is lymphocyte differentiation?

Lymphocyte differentiation is a process in which activated B cells or T cells become specialized immune cells. For example, B cells can give rise to antibody-producing cells and T cells can differentiate into cytotoxic T cells.

How do antigens activate B and T lymphocytes?

Armed helper T cells that recognize the peptide:MHC complex then deliver activating signals to the B cell. Thus, protein antigens binding to B cells both provide a specific signal to the B cell by cross-linking its antigen receptors and allow the B cell to attract antigenspecific T-cell help.

What are the principal classes of lymphocytes and how do they differ in function?

There are two main types lymphocytes: T cells and B cells. B cells produce antibody molecules that can latch on and destroy invading viruses or bacteria. T cells are direct fighters of foreign invaders and also produced cytokines, which are biological substances that help activate other parts of the immune system.

What are the three classes of lymphocytes and where does each class originate?

There are three types of lymphocytes, known as T cells, B cells, and natural killer cells. T cells get their name because they are developed in the thymus gland. These cells are distinguished from other lymphocytes by the specialized T-cell receptor molecule that is located on the surface of the cell.

What is the difference between T and B lymphocytes?

T cells are responsible for cell-mediated immunity. B cells, which mature in the bone marrow, are responsible for antibody-mediated immunity. The cell-mediated response begins when a pathogen is engulfed by an antigen-presenting cell, in this case, a macrophage.

What is the difference between B cells and T cells Brainly?

the difference between B-cell lymphocytes and T-cell lymphocytes is that B cells produce antibodies, and T cells destroy infected cells. Explanation: The body produces two types of lymphocytes which are known as b cell and t cell lymphocytes.

How does a lymphocyte become immunocompetent?

In order for lymphocytes such as T cells to become immunocompetent, which refers to the ability of lymphocyte cell receptors to recognize MHC molecules, they must undergo positive selection.

Where and into what do activated B lymphocytes differentiate quizlet?

Where and into what do activated B lymphocytes differentiate? b. B lymphocytes activated in the bone marrow by the presentation of an antigen differentiate into many plasma cells that secrete immunoglobulins and only a few memory cells that retain recognition of the antigen as foreign.