What are the two main types of government?

Terms in this set (8)

  • Democracy. supreme political authority rests with the people.
  • Authoritarian. supreme political authority rests with the government.
  • Direct Democracy. the people make all the decisions directly. (
  • Representative Democracy.
  • Constitutional Democracy.
  • Dictatorship.
  • Absolute Monarchy.
  • Oligarchy.

What were the Federalists fighting for?

The Federalists wanted a strong government and strong executive branch, while the anti-Federalists wanted a weaker central government. The Federalists did not want a bill of rights —they thought the new constitution was sufficient.

How many forms of government are there?

Historically prevalent forms of government include monarchy, aristocracy, timocracy, oligarchy, democracy, theocracy and tyranny. The main aspect of any philosophy of government is how political power is obtained, with the two main forms being electoral contest and hereditary succession.

Why was the Constitution called a bundle of compromises?

The U.S. Constitution it produced has been called a “bundle of compromises” because delegates had to give ground on numerous key points to create a Constitution that was acceptable to each of the 13 states.

What was the reason for the Constitutional Convention?

Stimulated by severe economic troubles, which produced radical political movements such as Shays’s Rebellion, and urged on by a demand for a stronger central government, the convention met in the Pennsylvania State House in Philadelphia (May 25–September 17, 1787), ostensibly to amend the Articles of Confederation.

What were the four compromises of the Constitution?

There were four main compromises that were necessary in order to adopt and ratify the Constitution. These compromises were the Great (Connecticut) Compromise, Electoral College, Three-Fifths Compromise, and Compromise on the importation of slaves.

How did the Constitutional Convention affect the government?

In attempting to resolve such issues, as well as problems arising from the payment of debts from the Revolutionary War and other domestic issues, the delegates to the Constitutional Convention created a model of government that relied upon a series of checks and balances by dividing federal authority between the …

What was the main subject of debate among delegates to the convention quizlet?

What was the main subject of debate among delegates to the Convention? The states could not agree how much each other’s money was worth.

What are the four forms of government?

The four types of government are oligarchy, aristocracy, monarchy, and democracy. An oligarchy is when a society is ruled by a few people, usually the rich.

What did the delegates agree on at the Constitutional Convention?

The delegates generally agreed on the need for a separate executive independent of the legislature. (The executive would be called the “president.”) And they also agreed on giving the president the power to veto laws but only if his veto was subject to an override.

What were the 3 major compromises in the Constitution?

The three major compromises were the Great Compromise, the Three-Fifths Compromise, and the Electoral College.

How does the Constitution reflect the times in which it was written?

How does Constitution reflect times in which it was written? Because some of the laws written on the documents sounds like how life would have been like in that time. the first ten amendments to the US Constitution, ratified in 1791 and guaranteeing such rights as the freedoms of speech, assembly, and worship.

What was the main subject of debate among the delegates to the convention?

How the Articles of Confederation failed and delegates met to create a new constitution. The major debates were over representation in Congress, the powers of the president, how to elect the president (Electoral College), slave trade, and a bill of rights.

What did the delegates to the Constitutional Convention do to end the debate about how do you elect the president?

Explanation: They created an electoral college to elect the president.