What is Salter-Harris fracture classification?

The Salter-Harris classification system is a method used to grade fractures that occur in children and involve the growth plate, which is also known as the physis or physial plate. The classification system grades fractures according to the involvement of the physis, metaphysis, and epiphysis.

How many Salter-Harris classifications are there?

There are nine types of Salter–Harris fractures; types I to V as described by Robert B Salter and W Robert Harris in 1963, and the rarer types VI to IX which have been added subsequently: Type I – transverse fracture through the growth plate (also referred to as the “physis”): 6% incidence.

What is a Type III Salter-Harris fracture?

Salter-Harris type III fractures are an uncommon, intraarticular fracture physeal fractures that occur in children. The fracture line is often obliquely oriented through the epiphysis to the physis where it will take a horizontal orientation extending to the edge of the physis.

Where is your growth plate in your ankle?

Description. Ankle fractures in children and adolescents usually occur in the tibia or fibula and typically involve the growth plates. Growth plates are areas of cartilage, located near the ends of long bones, that harden into sold bone when a child becomes full-growh.

How do you describe a fracture?

Long bone fractures are described with reference to the direction of the fracture line in relation to the shaft of the bone. For example, a fracture passing perpendicular across the bone shaft is described as ‘transverse’. Other fractures passing across a long bone include, ‘oblique’ and ‘spiral’ fractures.

What is a Level 3 fracture?

A type III fracture (see the images below) is a fracture through the physis and epiphysis. This fracture passes through the hypertrophic layer of the physis and extends to split the epiphysis, inevitably damaging the reproductive layer of the physis.

What happens if you fracture your growth plate in your ankle?

Pain, swelling and tenderness. Bruising and misshaped appearance. Inability to bear weight. Tears or open skin wound.

What are the types of Salter Harris fractures?

Salter-Harris fractures are classified into 5 types: Type I is a fracture through the growth plate. The fracture line extends through the physis or within the growth plate. Type I fractures are due to the longitudinal force applied through the physis which splits the epiphysis from the metaphysis.

What is the treatment for a Salter-Harris fracture?

Once it identified as a definite Salter-Harris fracture how it is treated depends on the age of the child and on which classification it is. Type one– to treat this classification they will cast it to prevent any movement of the bone. Once it has healed there is no residual bone growth problems

How is a type 5 Salter-Harris fracture diagnosed?

An ultrasound may be useful for imaging in an infant. Type 5 fractures are difficult to diagnose. A widening of the growth plate may provide a clue to this type of injury. Treatment will depend on the type of Salter-Harris fracture, the bone involved, and whether the child has any additional injuries.

When was the Salter-Harris fracture first described?

This type of fracture was first described in 1963 by Robert B. Salter and W Robert Harris. A Salter-Harris fracture occurs most often in the lower leg or arm or the fingers.