What is the Alma-Ata Declaration from 1978 and what progress have we made in the past 40 years?

The Alma Ata Declaration in 1978 expanded the approach to improving health for all people from the focus on doctors, hospitals and biomedical advances to include human rights, concern for equity and community participation.

What are the components of Alma-Ata Declaration?

Specifically, Alma-Ata Declaration has outlined eight essential components of PHC [1], including: (1) Health education on prevailing health problems and the methods of preventing and controlling them; (2) Nutritional promotion including food supply; (3) Supply of adequate safe water and sanitation; (4) Maternal and …

How many countries attended the Alma-Ata Declaration of 1978?

134 countries
The International Conference on Primary Health Care (PHC) in Alma-Ata, Kazakhstan, in 1978, brought together 134 countries and 67 international organizations. The conference defined and granted international recognition to the concept of Primary Health Care as a strategy to reach the goal of Health for All in 2000.

What is the importance of Alma-Ata Declaration?

The Alma-Ata Declaration of 1978 emerged as a major milestone of the twentieth century in the field of public health, and it identified primary health care as the key to the attainment of the goal of “Health For All” around the globe.

What is the new name of Alma Ata?

From Alma-Ata 1978 to Astana 2018.

What is the meaning of Alma Ata?

Definitions of Alma-Ata. the largest city in Kazakhstan and the capital until 1998. synonyms: Almaty. example of: city, metropolis, urban center.

What is primary health care according to Alma Ata?

According to the Declaration of Alma Ata, primary health care, is “essential health care based on practical, scientifically sound and socially acceptable methods and technology made universally accessible to individuals and families in the community through their full participation and at a cost that the community and …