What are the 4 main types of hard hats?

What Are the Different ANSI Hard Hat Categories?

  • Class G (General) hard hats are rated for 2,200 volts.
  • Class E (Electrical) hard hats are rated for 20,000 volts.
  • Class C (Conductive) hard hats do not offer electrical protection.

What are the different classes of hard hats?

1-2005 standards, hard hat electrical performance is divided into three categories: Class E, Electrical; Class G, General, and; Class C, Conductive. Class E (Electrical) Hard Hats are designed to reduce exposure to high voltage conductors, and offer dielectric protection up to 20,000 volts (phase to ground).

What is a Type 1 and Type 2 hard hat?

Type I hard hats are only designed to protect workers from objects and blows that come from above and strike the top of a helmet. Type II hard hats are designed to offer protection from lateral blows and objects. This includes from the front, back, and side as well as from the top.

What do the colors of hard hats mean?

White for supervisors, foremen and engineers. Brown for welders and those working with high heat. Green for safety inspectors and occasionally new workers. Yellow for earth movers and general workers.

What is a Class B hard hat?

Class B Helmets are intended to reduce the force of impact of falling objects and to reduce the danger of contact with exposed high-voltage electrical conductors. Sample shells are proof-tested at 20,000 volts.

What is a Type 2 Class E hard hat?

Side- and top-protecting full-brim hard hats (Type 2, Class E) are used where swinging objects such as hooks and chains pose a hazard. They have a full brim around the entire hat to reduce glare and help shade the eyes, face, and neck in bright sunlight.

Who wears a black hard hat?

site supervisors
White: site managers, competent operatives, and vehicle marshals. Orange: slingers and signallers. Black: site supervisors.

What do pink hard hats mean?

In truth, those workers are often welders. Grey: If you are not a worker on the site, you will not wear any of the hats above. In fact, a grey hat will be given to you since you are a visitor and often without related duties. Pink: The final one is rare to see, but it sometimes appears on the site for punishment.

What is class C hard hat?

Class C (Conductive) Hard Hats differ from their counterparts in that they are not intended to provide protection against contact with electrical conductors. On the contrary, Class C hard hats may include vented options, such as the BRIGGS Vented Hard Hat, which provides better impact protection.

What is a Type 1 Class C helmet?

Work-at-height, vented climbing helmets (Type 1, Class C) allow air to circulate to keep workers cool and have a chinstrap that keeps the helmet in place if a fall or impact occurs. Helmets enclose the back and sides of the head to protect against impact as the result of a fall.

What is Class G hard hat?

Heat-resisting front-brim hard hats (Type 1, Class G) are used in high-heat applications such as metalworking, forging, welding, and smelting. They are classified as ANSI Type 1, which indicates head protection for impacts on the top of the head, and they are Class G to provide low-voltage protection up to 2.2KV.

What is a blue hard hat?

Blue Hard Hat Meaning Blue: Inexperienced/Visitor/Anyone else. This colour of helmet is reserved for those who shouldn’t really be left unsupervised on a building site. Apprentices will be wearing a blue hard hat, as will any visitor to the site.