What is the anatomy of the tonsils?

The tonsils (palatine tonsils) are a pair of soft tissue masses located at the rear of the throat (pharynx). Each tonsil is composed of tissue similar to lymph nodes, covered by pink mucosa (like on the adjacent mouth lining). Running through the mucosa of each tonsil are pits, called crypts.

What are the 4 types of tonsils?

Tonsils are fleshy masses of lymphatic tissue found in the throat, or pharynx. There are four different types of tonsils: palatine, pharyngeal (commonly referred to as the adenoid), lingual and tubal. Together these four types of tonsils make up what is called Waldeyer’s ring.

What are the 3 major tonsils?

There are three sets of tonsils in the back of the mouth: the adenoids, the palantine, and the lingual tonsils.

What are the 5 tonsils?


  • Palatine tonsils.
  • Lingual tonsils.
  • Tubal tonsils.
  • Pharyngeal tonsils/adenoids.

Where is tonsil situated?

Tonsils are clusters of lymphatic tissue just under the mucous membranes that line the nose, mouth, and throat (pharynx). There are three groups of tonsils. The pharyngeal tonsils are located near the opening of the nasal cavity into the pharynx.

What is the main function of the tonsils?

The tonsils are part of the body’s immune system. Because of their location at the throat and palate, they can stop germs entering the body through the mouth or the nose. The tonsils also contain a lot of white blood cells, which are responsible for killing germs.

What is the histology of tonsils?

Tonsils are large non-encapsulated (or partially encapsulated) masses of lymphoid tissue, that lie in the walls of the pharynx and nasopharynx and at the base of the tongue. The luminal surface of the tonsils are covered with a stratified squamous epithelium (in common with the oral epithelia).

What are the 4 components of the lymphatic system?

The lymphatic system is a network of very small tubes (or vessels) that drain lymph fluid from all over the body. The major parts of the lymph tissue are located in the bone marrow, spleen, thymus gland, lymph nodes, and the tonsils.

What are functions of tonsils?

What Innervates palatine tonsils?

The innervation of the palatine tonsils is provided by the lesser palatine nerve which arises from the maxillary division of the trigeminal nerve and the tonsillar branches of the glossopharyngeal nerve.

Where is the third tonsil?

It is located in an area called the nasopharynx, and if it is large enough, it can block air from flowing through the nose. The easiest way to understand the adenoid is just to think of it as a third tonsil.

What is the function of tonsils?

• Tonsils are protective (lymph) glands that are situated on both sides in the throat. • The tonsils constitute an important part of the body’s immune system and are vital defense organs. • They protect the body from bacteria and viruses by fighting these as soon as they enter the body (via the oral / nasal cavity).

What is the shape of the palatine tonsils?

7.  Palatine tonsils are two in number and ovoid in shape.  Situated in Tonsilar fossa in lateral wall of oropharynx.  Tonsilar fossa – composed of three muscles. • Palatoglossus muscle – anterior pillar.

What is tonsillitis?

TONSILLITIS • Inflammation or infection of the tonsils is medically termed as Tonsillitis. • Tonsils are protective (lymph) glands that are situated on both sides in the throat. • The tonsils constitute an important part of the body’s immune system and are vital defense organs.

What structures make up the bed of the tonsil?

The structures forming the bed of the tonsil are: Superior constrictor muscle Styloglossus muscle The structures related to the bed of the tonsil are: styloid process (if enlarged) glossopharyngeal nerve facial artery submandibular salivary gland posterior belly of digastric medial pterygoid muscle angle of mandible 13.